Sign Up · Sign In · Feedback

Shannon Bennett Memorial Scholarship Fund

The South Florida Flag Football League, Rainbow Sports League, South Florida Amateur Athletic Association in partnership with the Shannon Bennett Legacy Foundation  are proud to establish the Shannon Bennett Memorial Scholarship Fund. 

Shannon was a passionate member of many LGBTQ+ Sports Leagues, as well as a proud member and alumni of the Deerfield Beach Community. Shannon left a lasting impact both on the field and in the community.

The Scholarship Fund was established to provide scholarships to students who identify as Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered, or Queer OR are the dependent of a self identified LGBTQ parent. The fund was created to support LGBTQ students in furthering their educational goals.

The graduating Senior should Meet the Following Criteria: 

  • Resident of Deerfield Beach
  • A member of the LGBTQ+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer/Questioning) Community
  • A student athlete involved in at least one organized sport (either through high school or independently) 
  • Pursuing a career in public service (i.e. education, law enforcement, public health, etc.) 

2020 Shannon Bennett Memorial Scholarship Fund

The South Florida Flag Football League, in collaboration with Darren Bennett, Rainbow Sports League, and the South Florida Amateur Athletic Association, is proud to award LGBTQ+ youth Jana Kelly with the inaugural Shannon Bennett Memorial Scholarship!

Jana will be attending Brown University in Providence, RI where she will be majoring in English.

Jana chose to attend Brown because of its lack of restraints. Brown offers an Open Curriculum, which does not have a set of class requirements and allows students to choose courses based on their interests. Jana felt the Open Curriculum would best equip her with all the knowledge to pursue her passion in English.

Congratulations again to Jana; we wish you great success in your educational endeavors and are proud to honor Shannon's legacy with you as the scholarship recipient! 

Send Your Feedback